36,800 Students drop out of Ethiopian Universities over ethnic violence as 17 hostages still missing.

Abiy Ahmed, Prime Minister of Ethiopia won the Nobel Peace Prize in October 2019 for signing a peace deal with long time enemy, neighbour Eritrea. He came to power in the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia on 2 April 2018. But in the past week, thousands of Ethiopians have take to the streets demanding action for the slaughter of at least a dozen of their children at Ethiopian schools and against the kidnapping of almost two dozen students in December, seventeen of their young people they have not seen since last December.

by Melissa Hemingway


File photo: Abiy Ahmed Prime Minister of Ethiopia & President Isaias Afwerki of Eritrea, 1 Sept. 2018 Abiy Ahmed Prime Minister of Ethiopia & President Isaias Afwerki of Eritrea, 1 Sept. 2018 File Photo:  Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 4.0  Photo Art/Cropping/Enhancement: Rosa Yamamoto/ Feminine-Perspective Magazine

According to a RINJ Foundation nurse in Addis Ababa, “the National Movement of Amhara (NaMA) has condemned  what it called government negligence about attacks on ethnic Amhara students in different parts of Ethiopia, especially Oromo region.”

“Ethnic-based attacks in Oromo region are worsening rather than showing signs of improvement.”

“Many thousands of protestors and also opposition members have been demonstrating against the Prime Minister urging action with a good result. The students are missing now for two and a half months,” said the nurse.

Some of the Ethnic Amhara Students (13 females, 4 males) of Dembi Dolo University in Oromia, originally Kidnapped by rival ethnic group. Still missing.

  1. Asabe Ayele Alem – (Plant Science 3rd Year Student)
  2. Atalelegn Getenet Derese – (Natural Science 1st Year Student)
  3. Belayenesh Mekonen Demelew – (Agro Economics 1st Year Student)
  4. Bitewelegn Atenafu Alemu – (Computer Science 3rd Year Student)
  5. Esekalehu Chekole Tegegn – (Chemistry 3rd Year Student)
  6. Gimanesh Yenaneh Adugba – (Biotechnology 3rd Year Student)
  7. Girema Habetie Emegnew – (Mechanical Engineering 3rd Year Student)
  8. Kenedeya Molla Gebeyehu – (Natural Science 1st Year Student)
  9. Menemon Belay Abebe – (Journalism 2nd Year Student)
  10. Meseret Kefeyalew Molla – ( Natural Science 3rd Year Student)
  11. Mulu Zewdie Adan(Sociology 2nd Year Student)
  12. Samerawit Kera Aserese – (Journalism 2nd Year Student
  13. Siregute Gete Tibebu – (Natural Science 1st Year Student)
  14. Tanalem Mulatu Kebede – (Agro Economics 2nd
  15. Tigist Mesay Mezegebu – (Highschool Student)
  16. Wude Girema Feten – (Agro Economics 3rd Student)
  17. Zemed Birehan Dessie – (Natural Science 3rd Year Student)

“Abiy Ahmed has initiated important reforms that give many citizens hope for a better life and a brighter future,” the Norwegian Nobel Committee said.